Hire Day Blog

03/20/2019

1. Describe how the Hire Day went for you. Did you feel like you were given a fair chance, either as CEO or someone being hired? Explain.

2. What will be some moves you will make towards ensuring everyone is on task and engaged in the work that needs to be done? What will be some moves you will make if disagreements come up?

3. What is more important: a strong vision for the company, dedicated workers, or a huge budget? Explain. At this point, what are the best qualities of your company? What are the worst?

4. What are your next steps for this coming week? What are the goals that must be accomplished by the end of next week?

Clarence:

During hire day, I felt that I made the right choice to hire someone who is good at organization and another one good at business. Although it did not seem very fair at first, considering that most of the class was going into the other projects, along came some people who wanted to join. I did hire two people, but because we didn't need much of other skill then business. To get it on the market is the main goal. I'll be sure that we are working on task because we'll have discussions on what we are working on. I can also see what they are working on since all the documents are shared. When disagreements show up, there hasn't been a disagreement yet over anything yet, but when they do show up, both of the people in my group are in debate, so they would either agree with each other or argue. I feel like dedicated workers are the most important because they run the entire place. A budget does not really matter in our case considering that we need a better business strategy in order to get our product out there. For now, the best quantities of our company is how we are able to get work done in a short amount of time. But the worst times are when we are unable to gather resources in order to complete something. My steps for the coming week are to get more done and make sure that we are able to get the resources that we need in order to complete the task of building a working prototype. Then at the end of the next week, we can move onto business strategies.


Akhil:

The hire day was a breeze for me. I had a company in mind from the day before, and that was the company I joined. I weighed my options of CEOs and ideas, and since I knew that the CEO was willing to work hard and was able to work hard to get into showcase, I walked up to the table for an interview. I was asked four questions and I got hired immediately. Then, the CEO set me off to recruit someone while he was interviewing a potential candidate. I do feel that I was given a very fair chance to be hired since the CEO knew I was able to work well with a team, and I fit the categories he was looking for. I enjoyed the process of trying to recruit others, and I was given permission to, by the CEO.

To make sure every member is on task, there is probably not much that is needed except a few reminders, since I have confidence that my CEO is able to enforce and keep reinforcing the rules to the other group member and I. Due to the different types of needs to make our company idea work, the members of our team will constantly have something to work on, whether it be business wise, or hardware related. If disagreements come up, we can look at them as a way to improve, rather than getting into heated debates. If we are faced with problems between our group members, all that will be needed is for the CEO to repeat the expectations of each team member.

In my opinion, I believe that dedicated workers are more important than a strong vision for the company and a huge budget. This is because, first of all, the budget will play a role in the long term, and probably isn't something that needs to be figured out right now. With just a strong vision for the company, with no workers caring about the journey and every little detail in between, the company cannot be successful because the view for the company comes after the people put some effort in. Currently, our best qualities are making a website, getting necessary answers through interviews, and our CEO is great with hardware.

Our worst quality is probably communication between our group members. Our next steps are to conduct more interviews and get more input on what our customers prefer, so we can make adjustments that benefit the most people. We still need to find out our market, where we are selling, and to which age group we are selling. Then we need to create a website. By the end of next week, we must have the interview input that is essential for the base level of our product, and we need to have put all the input together, and decided what to include and what not to include in our product or products. If there is an evident majority, then we might need to take out a feature or add one. If they seem close, then we will try and sell both.

Michelle:

Hire day was really quick for me because I got hired by the first CEO I asked. I thought that I was given a fair chance, because the questions were fairly easy to answer, but I felt that they could've been more vague/more room for different answers because they were very direct. Overall, it was fine, but at one point the CEO was reluctant on whether or not they should hire me.

Some moves I would make towards ensuring everyone is on task and engaged in work that needs to be done is telling them to be more serious, and suggest things they could work on if they think they have nothing to do. If disagreements about the product come up, I would say that it depends on the customers, so they should make an interview question about their disagreement to see what the customers would like better.

The best case scenario would be both, but if I had to choose one, I would say a strong vision for the company and dedicated workers because then, the company would grow very fast, with a chance of earning a large budget anyway.

My next steps for this coming week are getting set on a few features we've decided on adding to the modular phone case. Goals that must be accomplished by the end of the week are finishing our website, and getting more opinions from customers.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started